Fishing & Boating News

YETI FLW College Fishing Event presented by Bass Pro Shops set for Lake Cayuga

by: Joe Opager, Director of Public Relations,

(Jul 18, 2018 - SENECA FALLS, N.Y.)

The 2018 YETI FLW College Fishing season will continue with an event July 21 on Lake Cayuga presented by Bass Pro Shops. The tournament, hosted by the Seneca County Chamber of Commerce, is the second of three regular-season events for anglers in the Northern Conference, and will feature a top prize of a $2,000 club scholarship and an invitation to compete in the 2019 College Fishing National Championship.

Tubes, Senkos, swimjigs and topwater baits are all expected to play a role for the college anglers competing in this event. Recent local reports say that an algae/plankton bloom has diminished the water clarity, but a large number of both largemouth and smallmouth bass will still be brought to the scales.

Expect largemouth anglers to target the plentiful shallow weeds and grass, while the anglers choosing to target smallmouth will be out deeper, off the bank. The winners will likely need a five-bass limit nearing 18 pounds to earn the victory and the $2,000 top prize.

Competitors will take off from Cayuga State Park, located at 2678 Lower Lake Road in Seneca Falls, at 6:30 a.m. EDT Saturday. Weigh-in will be held at the State Park beginning at 2:30 p.m. Takeoff and weigh-in are free and open to the public.

Schools are allowed to register up until the morning of the tournament. Entries may be made either by phone or at

Schools currently registered to compete in the Lake Cayuga tournament include:
Bowling Green State University – Hayden Hoffma, Kelleys Island, Ohio, and Emily Menegay, Homeworth, Ohio
California University of Pennsylvania – Colton Higgins and Jakob Bissett, both of Waynesburg, Pa.
California University of Pennsylvania – Nick Fulks, Canonsburg, Pa., and David Blaker, Rice’s Landing, Pa.
Clarkson University – Benjamin Seaman, Colchester, Vt., and Tyler Robinson, Madrid, N.Y.
Franklin & Marshall College – Collin Martin, Sykesville, Md., and Nicholas Brown, Manheim, Pa.
Kent State University – Andrew George, Canton, Ohio, and Riley Minerd, Rocky River, Ohio
Kent State University – Tanner Ward, Coshocton, Ohio, and Jacob Klicman, Deerfield, Ohio
Kutztown University – Joe Tini, Archibald, Pa., and Sean Cassel, Marlton, N.J.
Mansfield University of Pennsylvania – Lock Holmes, Fairport, N.Y., and Ty Faichney, Mechanicsburg, Pa.
Mansfield University of Pennsylvania – Logan Murray, Easton, Pa., and Billy Gregory, Swoyersville, Pa.
Ohio State University – Gardon Wycoff, Delaware, Ohio, and Patrick Henry, Stanhope, N.J.
Ohio State University – Colton Lindsey, Raymond, Ohio, and Jacob Middleton, London, Ohio
Paul Smith’s College – Brandon Johnson, Collins, N.Y., and Frank Keegan, Watervliet, N.Y.
Penn State University – Derek Horner and Matthew Huggler, both of State College, Pa.
Penn State University – Stephen Jesso, Plymouth, Pa., and Ryan Fox, Thornhurst, Pa.
Penn State University – Jonathan Dietz, Corry, Pa., and Shane Rolle, Hanover, Pa.
Slippery Rock University – Kyle Brown, Wexford, Pa., and Jeffrey Henderson, Perkasie, Pa.
Slippery Rock University – Nathan Quince, Imperial, Pa., and Samuel Jenesky, Pittsburgh, Pa.
State University of New York-Buffalo – Anthony DeGregorio, Queensbury, N.Y., and Noah Weinstein, Jamestown, N.Y.
State University of New York-Buffalo – Austin Keppler, Hamburg, N.Y., and Zachary Hector, Hamburg, N.Y.
State University of New York-Cobleskill – Tristen Bauer, Port Leyden, N.Y., and Drew Tiano, Hudson, N.Y.
State University of New York-College of Environmental Science and Forestry – Peter Denton, Central Square, N.Y., and Austin Lamica, East Branch, N.Y.
State University of New York-College of Environmental Science and Forestry – Caleb Konrad, Brooklyn, N.Y., and Tyler Hodges, Chittenango, N.Y.
State University of New York-College of Environmental Science and Forestry – Mitchell Natalizio and Nicolas Echevarria, both of Port Jervis, N.Y.
State University of New York-College of Environmental Science and Forestry – Patrick Durand, Cherry Hill, N.J., and Benjamin Schultes, Ontario, N.Y.
University of Massachusetts-Amherst – Julian Burgoff, Amherst, N.Y., and Jon Hastings, Leominster, Mass.
University of Pittsburgh – Henry Colberg, Pittsburgh, Pa., and Dominic Vitale, Shickshinny, Pa.
Virginia Highland Community College – Clay Winebarger and Dustin Murray, both of Abingdon, Va.
Virginia Highland Community College – Ryan Strong, Bristol, Va., and Dylan Andis, Abingdon, Va.
Virginia Tech University – Perry Marvin, Peru, N.Y., and Jeffery Cullop, Marion, Va.
Virginia Tech University – Robert Swope, Orange, Va., and Cole Bitler, Earlysville, Va.
West Virginia University – Miles Perzynski, Churchville, Md., and Bailey Gordon, Hurricane, W. Va.
Youngstown State University – Jared Latone, Austintown, Ohio, and Jonathan Creed, Youngstown, Ohio
Youngstown State University – Stan Miketa, New Middletown, Ohio, and Mike Soots, McDonald, Ohio

YETI FLW College Fishing teams compete in three regular-season qualifying tournaments in one of five conferences – Central, Northern, Southern, Southeastern and Western. The top ten teams from each division’s three regular-season tournaments and the top 20 teams from the annual FLW College Fishing Open will advance to the 2019 FLW College Fishing National Championship. Additional teams will qualify for the National Championship if the field size in regular-season events exceeds 100 boats. The location of the 2019 FLW College Fishing National Championship will be revealed in early fall.

YETI FLW College Fishing is free to enter. All participants must be registered, full-time students at a college, university or community college and members of a college fishing club that is recognized by their school.
For complete details and updated information visit

About FLW
FLW is the world’s largest tournament-fishing organization, providing anglers of all skill levels the opportunity to compete for millions in prize money in 2018 across five tournament circuits. Headquartered in Benton, Kentucky, with offices in Minneapolis, FLW and their partners conduct 286 bass-fishing tournaments annually around the world, including the United States, Canada, China, Italy, South Korea, Mexico, Portugal, and South Africa. FLW tournament fishing can be seen on the Emmy-nominated “FLW" television show, broadcast to more than 564 million households worldwide, while FLW Bass Fishing magazine delivers cutting-edge tips from top pros.