Fishing & Boating News

Sportfishing Industry Presents the ICAST 2018 New Product Showcase Awards

Sportfishing Industry Presents the ICAST 2018 New Product Showcase Awards Buyers and Media choose 25 Best of Category winners 

by: Mary Jane Williamson, Dir Communications,

(Jul 18, 2018 - Orange County Convention Center, Orlando, FL) July 12, 2018 – Last night, the 25 New Product Showcase Best of Category awards were presented during the New Product Showcase Awards reception held during ICAST, the International Convention of Allied Sportfishing Trades.

ICAST, the world’s largest sportfishing trade show, is now in full swing (July 10 – 13), at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Fla.

Produced by the American Sportfishing Association (ASA), the industry’s trade association, ICAST – in its 61th year as the association’s trade show – is the annual destination for representatives from the global recreational fishing industry to see the latest innovations in tackle, gear, accessories and apparel.

One of the most prominent features for ICAST exhibitors and attendees alike is the New Product Showcase. The New Product Showcase, sponsored by Fishing Tackle Retailer, embodies the sportfishing industry's innovative and entrepreneurial spirit and rewards that ingenuity through the New Product Showcase awards competition.

This year, 974 products, accessories and apparel were entered by 331 companies into 25 categories, all vying for the overall ICAST 2018 Best of Show award.
 
“My congratulations go to all of the winners and everyone who participated in the New Product Showcase,” said ASA President Glenn Hughes. “Remember, there are also 949 products that also deserve recognition. This year, for the first time, all the New Product Showcase entries are available for viewing on ICASTfishing.org and on the ICAST app under the Exhibitor listings. I urge you to check them out.”

“This year we are living up to our reputation as the world’s largest sportfishing trade show,” said Trade Show Director Blake Swango. “We the most attendance and the largest number of exhibitors, ever.”

Swango also noted, “I also want to congratulate our New Product Showcase award winners and thank all our member companies who submitted products for judging. I also thank Fishing Tackle Retailer for their sponsorship of this important event.”
 
2018 ICAST New Product Showcase Best of Category Award Winners
For product details, images and other information please contact the individual award winners’ contacts listed below.

Best of Category – Boating Accessories – Johnson Outdoors Marine Electronics, Inc.
Product:  Minn Kota Ultrex
Contact: Kathy Dutton kdutton@johnsonoutdoors.com

Best of Category – Boats and Watercraft – Jackson Kayak
Product:  360 Angler
Contact: Sonia Cronin sonia@jacksonkayak.com  

Best of Category – Eyewear – Costa Sunglasses
Product:  Baffin
Contact: Shauna Metz smetz@costadelmar.com  

Best of Category – Footwear – Rivers Edge Products
Product:  Fish Sandals
Contact: Michael McFadden Michael.mcfadden@riversedgeproducts.com  

Best of Category – Giftware – Number 6 Brands
Product:  Cauldryn Coffee
Contact: Jason Shinn jason@number6brands.com  

Best of Category – Lifestyle Apparel – AFTCO/American Fishing Tackle Company
Product:  Hexatron Performance Fleece
Contact: Matt Florentine matt@aftco.com

Best of Category – Technical Apparel – AFTCO/American Fishing Tackle Company
Product:  Hydronaut Heavy-Duty Waterproof System
Contact: Matt Florentine matt@aftco.com  

Best of Category – Electronics – Garmin USA
Product:  Garmin Panoptix LiveScope
Contact: Carly Hysell carly.hysell@garmin.com  

Best of Category – Fishing Accessory – YETI
Product:  YETI Tundra Haul
Contact: Ravanne Harris rharris@yeti.com  

Best of Category – Fly Fishing Accessory – YETI
Product:  YETI Panga Backpack 28
Contact:  Ravanne Harris rharris@yeti.com

Best of Category – Fishing Line – PowerPro
Product:  PowerPro SuperSlick V2 Brand
Contact:  John Mazurkiewicz jpmazurk@ameritech.net

Best of Category – Kids’ Tackle – AnythingPossible
Product:  Kid Casters DUDE PERFECT Fishing Kit & Casting Game
Contact: Jason Bauer jbauer@lilanglers.com  

Best of Category – Tackle Management – Tak Logic Lure Lock
Product:  Lure Locker
Contact: John Skrabo jskrabo@taklogic.com  

Best of Category – Terminal Tackle – Rapala
Product: VMC NEKO Skirt
Contact: Bob Bussey bbussey@rapalausa.com  

Best of Category – Freshwater Hard Lure – Westin
Product:  Freddy the Frog
Contact: Thomas Sanotra tsa@fairpoint.dk  

Best of Category – Saltwater Hard Lure – 13 Fishing
Product: Octopi  
Contact: Jose Chavez jose@13Fishing.com  

Best of Category – Freshwater Soft Lure – LIVETARGET
Product:  LIVETARGET Hollow Body Crawfish
Contact:  Susan Koppers skoppers@livetargetlures.com

Best of Category – Saltwater Soft Lure – LIVETARGET
Product:  LIVETARGET Fleeing Shrimp
Contact: Susan Koppers skoppers@livetargetlures.com

Best of Category – Fly Reel – SEiGLER Reels
Product: Seigler MF Fly Reel
Contact:  Russell Seymour russell@seigler.fish

Best of Category – Freshwater Reel – Shimano American Corporation
Product:  Curado DC Baitcasting Reel
Contact: John Mazurkiewicz jpmazurk@ameritech.net

Best of Category – Saltwater Reel – Shimano American Corporation
Product: Tekota 500 Levelwind Reel
Contact: John Mazurkiewicz jpmazurk@ameritech.net

Best of Category – Rod & Reel Combo – Lew’s Fishing
Product:  Team Lew’s® Custom Black LFS Combo
Contact:  Tony Mehri tmehri@hunterspec.com

Best of Category – Fly Fishing Rod – St. Croix Rods
Product:  Mojo Trout
Contact: Rich Belanger richb@stcroixrods.com

Best of Category – Freshwater Rod – St. Croix Rods
Product:  Legend Glass
Contact:  Rich Belanger richb@stcroixrods.com

Best of Category – Saltwater Rod – St. Croix Rods
Product:  Mojo Yak
Contact:  Rich Belanger richb@stcroixrods.com
 
ICAST 2019 will be held in the North/South Building at the Orange County Convention Center, Orlando, Fla., July 9 - 12, 2019.


AWS