Fishing & Boating News

Oh Boy! Oberto Redfish Cup Announces ESPN Airdates for 2008 Season

by: Melanie Jarrett, Career Sports & Entertainment

(Mar. 03, 2008 - Little Rock, AR)

The 2008 season of the Oh Boy! Oberto Redfish Cup will begin airing on ESPN2 in July, the Cup announced today. Beginning on July 5, the Redfish Cup will assume the 8:30 to 9 a.m. Eastern timeslot on the network. Twelve original episodes will air on Saturday mornings through Oct. 25.

But the biggest change comes during the 12 re-airs scheduled to take place throughout the year, when the Redfish Cup will move out of the Saturday morning "Outdoors Block" and instead air five times on Sunday afternoons between noon and 1:30 p.m. This marks the first time in the Cup's six-year history that episodes will air on weekend afternoons.

"We have been consistent ratings performers for ESPN2 on Saturday mornings over the years," said David Healy, senior director of sales and sponsorship for Career Sports & Entertainment, the media, marketing and client representation agency that owns the Cup. "This year's additional airings on Sunday afternoon reflect our popularity among sports fans and affords us the opportunity to reach an even larger audience outside the traditional outdoors space."

The 2008 season of the Oh Boy! Oberto Redfish Cup kicks off April 25-27 in Punta Gorda, Fla. and makes three additional stops throughout the Southeast before the season-ending championship Oct. 10-12 in a yet to be announced location. Each event features a $50,000 grand prize and $180,000 in total payout. With significant sponsor contingency programs, the Cup will give away almost $1 million over the course of the 2008 season.

Airdates of the 2008 Oh Boy! Oberto Redfish Cup on ESPN2
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, July 5*
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, July 12*
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, July 19*
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, July 26*
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 2*
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 9
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 16
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 23*
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 30*
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, Sept. 6*
5:30 – 6:30 a.m. Saturday, Sept. 13
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, Sept. 13
Noon – 12:30 p.m. Sunday, Sept. 14
12:30 – 1 p.m. Sunday, Sept. 14
5:30 – 6 a.m. Saturday, Sept. 20
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, Sept. 20
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, Sept. 27
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, Oct. 4*
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, Oct. 11*
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, Oct. 18*
8:30 – 9 a.m. Saturday, Oct. 25*
Noon – 12:30 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 26
12:30 – 1 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 26
1 – 1:30 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 26
* denotes original episodes; all times subject to change

For more information and upcoming announcements contact Redfish Nation, LLC, 1200 South Scott Street, Little Rock AR 72202 or call 888-372-6544.

About the Oh Boy! Oberto Redfish Cup:
In its sixth year, the Oh Boy! Oberto Redfish Cup is the nation's premier inshore saltwater fishing championship. The nation's top competitive teams compete at all events, creating the sport's first true professional tour. The 2008 schedule consists of five events culminating with the Oh Boy! Oberto Redfish Cup Championship in October. Full 2008 tournament coverage can be seen every Saturday at 8:30 a.m. ET on ESPN2 beginning in July.

Sponsors of the 2008 Oh Boy! Oberto Redfish Cup includes Oh Boy! Oberto Beef Jerky, Tabasco, Under Armour, Lake and Bay Boats, Mercury Marine, Lowrance Electronics, Falcon Rods, Academy Sports and Outdoors and Motorguide.